h1

Alan’s letters 21

October 10, 2009


Alan’s letters 21

Transcript of above

21st May 1943

Dear Bill, since my last letter I received ten letters from home, the last being yours of the 9th April. Thank you for buying the saving certificates, I agree that that is the best investment from all points of view at present. Incidentally, I assume you are drawing from my account to settle all my commitments including those to yourself. Please continue this entirely at your discretion rather than defer any matters for me. I have been wondering where my articles of clerkship are now. I am afraid I cannot remember whether I left them at home, at the station or with the society. If you could trace them and deposit them in a safe place, I should be very glad. I am now receiving cigarettes from home, Lucy and Hilda for which very many thanks indeed. Your inclusions of a pipe in the clothing parcel was a brain wave, and I have many an enjoyable fill. I am perfect in health and foot stands up to football now. All the best to you all, with love, Alan.

*******************

Alan Birley Bateman’s letters home from inside Stalagluft 3, while held as prisoner of war between 1942 and 1945. These letters give a first-hand, fascinating insight into life in the camp, and covers the period of “The Great Escape”

One comment

  1. My father Flight Lieutenant Selwyn Cooper from NZ was also marched/trucked from Sagan to “somewhere” near Bremen. The name looks like Temptstadt but I cannot find this – nor can I find a Google reference for Tampstadt as per Alan’s writings….Looks like they could be the same place?..I am trying to retrace the route from Sagan that he would have taken. Grateful if anyone can throw light on this? thanks v much…………Guy Cooper



Leave a Reply

